My Favorite Songs of 2012, Part 2

Every once in a while, a song gets played to death on radio that actually deserves it. The second part of my list also includes a couple of veterans making music that is worthy of being played next to their very best work (O’connor, Cohen), a relatively new artist that shows how to avoid the sophomore slump (and also proves what a great year it was for r&b music), two artists that make music so consistently good it’s easy to take for granted how brilliant they are (Stars, Cat Power), and…Fiona Apple. She’s not for everyone, but for those of us who appreciate her singularity, waiting half a decade in between albums is sure worth it!

  • Somebody The I Used To Know, Gotye (feat. Kimbra)

Now and then I think of when we were together
Like when you said you felt so happy you could die
Told myself that you were right for me
But felt so lonely in your company
But that was love and it’s an ache I still remember

    • Hold on When You Get Love and Let Go When You Give It, Stars

There’s been a lot of talk of love
But that don’t amount to nothing
You can evolve the stars above
But that doesn’t make it something

And the only way to last
And the only way to live it
Is to hold on when you get love,
And let go when you give it.. give it.

    • Adorn, Miguel

These lips can’t wait to taste your skin, baby, no, no
And these eyes, yeah, can’t wait to see your grin, ooh ooh baby
Just let my love
Just let my love adorn you
Please baby, yeah

  • Every Single Night, Fiona Apple


Every single night I endure the flight
Of little whims of white flame
Butterflies in my brain
These ideas of mine percolate the mind
Trickle down the spine
Form the belly swelling to a blaze

That’s where the pain comes in
Like a second skeleton
Trying to fit beneath the skin
I can’t get the feelings in

Every single night’s a fight
With my brain

  • Nothin But Time, Cat Power


I see you, kid, alone in your room
You got the weight on your mind
And you’re just trying to get by
Your world is just beginning
And I know this life seems never-ending
But you got nothing but time
And it ain’t got nothing on you

  • Going Home, Leonard Home


Going home
Without my sorrow
Going home
Sometime tomorrow
Going home
To where it’s better
Than before

  • Take Off Your Shoes, Sinead O’connor


If you believed at all in your breviary
If you believed even in just the ghost of me
You wouldn’t now be so surprised to see me
In vanity you took the name of me

You brought me into infamy
And now you’re so surprised to see me
And now you’re so surprised to see me
Behold, at the last lamplight
At the very end of your street
I’m whispering something
“Come closer to me, come closer to me.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

